Hello Guest!

Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.

  • 6 Replies
  • 2387 Views
*

TheLuvShack

  • *****
  • 131
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: Used
  • PurchDate: October 2016
  • Model: 3100
  • ModelYear: 2012
  • Slide: Yes
  • Location: Indiana
Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« on: October 31, 2017, 08:31:31 am »
I have a 2012 3100 with Dometic thermostat and Duo Therm AC with heat strip. When I select the furnace and turn it on, the heat strip comes on too. Both run at the same time. I don't remember this happening before. Is this normal or do I have a problem? Thanks, Daryl

*

HomeSweetRoam

  • ***
  • 11
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: No
  • NewUsed: Used
  • Model: 3100
  • ModelYear: 2012
  • Slide: Yes
  • IntColor: Cherry
  • Location: Michigan
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2017, 12:21:37 pm »
Try putting your fan on Auto.

*

HenryJ

  • *****
  • 205
  • All ready for the road
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: New
  • PurchDate: April 16 del Jul 24,16
  • Model: 2910
  • ModelYear: 2016 / 2910T
  • Slide: Yes
  • IntColor: Hickory (light)
  • ExtColor: graystone
  • Location: Florida near Tampa
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2017, 04:37:56 pm »
That is not normal at all. We have used our units with heat strips , we have 2 and it was cold enough. However if we used the furnace
it was just the furnace and seemed to work well. Have not had a lot of these uses so we are close to getting a try out for this year
soon. Hope you get it all settled. You can call the plant and see who can give you the scoop. Good luck. Regards, P
Patricia
A new day has dawned now only traveling with Miss Elle . Jim will be watching over us.

*

TheLuvShack

  • *****
  • 131
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: Used
  • PurchDate: October 2016
  • Model: 3100
  • ModelYear: 2012
  • Slide: Yes
  • Location: Indiana
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2017, 05:16:34 pm »
Thanks for the responses! I just winterized and put it in storage for the winter. I do know that my fan is set on "high". When we head South, I'll set fan on "auto" and try again.
Daryl

*

ragoodsp

  • ******
  • 550
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: No
  • NewUsed: New
  • PurchDate: May 5, 2012
  • Model: 3100
  • ModelYear: 2012
  • Slide: Yes
  • IntColor: cafe
  • ExtColor: cafe
  • Location: New Hampshire
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2017, 09:58:27 am »
Luvshack.....I hoping more owners will chime in to help Loveshack with his issue.....I know there is a setting in that thermostat that will prevent the heat strip from coming on with the furnace but it has been to long since I had my PC (his!) to recall what and where the toggle is...I know it does have something to do with the "auto" setting.  Thanks, RAG
Ron Goodspeed

*

JackD

  • *****
  • 231
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: New
  • PurchDate: 2017 (latest)
  • Model: 2350 Sprinter
  • ModelYear: 2017
  • Slide: Yes
  • IntColor: Cherry
  • ExtColor: Greystone
  • Location: Delaware
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2017, 11:49:30 am »
Wethompson1 has a good point - set the fan to Auto.
Jack

*

TheLuvShack

  • *****
  • 131
    • View Profile
  • OwnPC: Yes
  • NewUsed: Used
  • PurchDate: October 2016
  • Model: 3100
  • ModelYear: 2012
  • Slide: Yes
  • Location: Indiana
Re: Heat strip turns on when turn on furnace.
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2017, 08:13:29 pm »
Set the fan to "auto" is the correct answer! Picked up the PC from storage today and furnace works just fine. Thanks to all !!